Your Kansas criminal case is unique; therefore, the path it will take will be too. Below you will find a basic overview of how many criminal cases proceed:
Typically to search and seize there must be a search warrant, except where:
1. Your car, the officer only needs probable cause to search it;
2. You and the area immediately surrounding you;
3. If there is any evidence that could be destroyed or dissipated if not handled immediately; and
4. With your consent.
This is a basic summary of the typical path Kansas criminal cases take. While put in simple terms, the process is complex and serious. You should not face this alone. Call us today 913.602.7288.
Driving under the influence is a serious crime in Kansas. Do not confuse this crime with a ordinary traffic offense, it is much more than that. Should you be accused of this crime understand that even the first time you are charged with a DUI you could be facing jail time, steep fines, suspension of your driver's license, community service, probation, court-ordered treatment, etc. This charge can be part of your permanent criminal record, increase your car insurance rate, and interfere with your job prospects, and more.
Here are some quick tips for protecting your rights:
Whether this is your first time, or you have had to make this decision in the past, picking a Kansas City, Kansas criminal defense attorney is an important one. We'd like to offer you six quick tips:
Our office is pleased to offer criminal law defense, in Johnson County, Kansas. Check out our website for everything you need to know, from start to finish, about your case. Call us today for assistance 913.602.7288.
We'd like to take a moment to thank you, Overland Park & Kansas City, KS, for being part of our firm. We are thankful for each-and-every one of our current and past clients. If you, or your loved one, are involved in any accident over the holiday don't hesitate to call us at 913.602.7288 or complete this FORM.
You probably already know that Kansas workers compensation claims typically settle. You will probably get a lump sum cash settlement, after you are shown to have met maximum medical improvement and receive a disability rating. What you may be wondering is what you should settle for? When considering what to settle for, you should first consider if there is anything you can do to increase the value of your case. Good news! There are ways to increase the value of your case. Here are some strategies that have been known to work:
What you may be entitled to, for your Kansas work injury, is drastically different than another type of personal injury (ex. car accident). No matter the injury, or what you earned, the maximum you can recover for a permanent total disability is $155,000. That is unless your spouse or dependent lost their life because of the accident. Then the maximum payable is $300,000. Kansas does have some exceptions to these rules but, only a complete analysis of your circumstance will allow us to determine if your claim qualifies for those.
You have questions and we have answers. Call us today @ 913.602.7288 or complete this FORM.
The equipment, products, machines, etc. necessary to complete your job may be the very things that cause your injury. When this occurs you are likely wondering if you may both be compensated by your employer and the product manufacturer. The short answer is, it depends. Your Kansas employer will likely be your first, and fastest, source of medical benefits and compensation. Additionally, a third party claim, against the product manufacturer, may also be a source of damage recovery and, likely the largest sources. While both may be responsible for your injury, you cannot double recover (i.e. if you are entitled to $100,000 you cannot recover $100,000 from your employer and $100,000 from the manufacturer, for a total of $200,000).
It is important that you contact us today, to discuss your options, at 913-602-7288 or complete this FORM. The processes, case laws, deadlines, etc. in claims like this are unique and complex. You need a lawyer on your side. Call now.
If you have been injured, while working in Kansas, you may be wondering if suing your employer is an option. Typically, your only recourse is filing a Worker's Compensation claim under the law. A civil suit against your employer will likely be unsuccessful. However, there is an exception to every rule - "Dual Capacity Doctrine". In this instance, it must be shown that your employer took on responsibilities (for you or your work) that are not normally part of their duty to you. If so, you may be able to both recover under the Kansas Worker's Compensation laws and in civil suit.
Your injury and recovery matter to us, whether or not you are able to sue your employer directly. Call us today at 913.602.7288 or complete this FORM, for a free consultation, today.
One of the most important pieces of information you have access to, related to your accident, is your medical records. Save these and keep each in a safe place. This is because, in Kansas, the records contain:
However, oftentimes, the insurance company will want this information for more than just the above reasons. They will want to use it to shift liability back to and/or deny your claim. We strongly suggest that you do not give or give permission to request these records before talking to us 913.602.7288 or completing this FORM. We know how to protect your interests and will fight to get you the money you deserve.
7500 College Blvd., Suite 500
PHONE & FAX