There are a number of traffic offenses that are charged as crimes, in Johnson County and across Kansas. Here, unlike some other states, there are stiff penalties traffic crimes. The top charges and the consequences are:
Kansas Traffic Offenses & Your Commercial Drivers’ License
Kansas does not treat traffic offense involving a commercial vehicle different from one involving a personal vehicle. That means you cannot have your traffic ticket amended or diverted where a criminal traffic offense occurs. Depending on your charges, you may have an automatic suspension of your CDL license and face jail time.
Didn't Know Your License Was Suspended
Your license may have been suspended and didn't even know it. This can happen because you:
Habitual Traffic Offender Penalties
Kansas has a Habitual Offender Act, where when you reach the third offenses (of any combination of driving w/suspended license, reckless driving, driving w/o insurance or DUI), in a five year period, your license will be automatically revoked for three years. Should you continue to drive while your license is revoked you will be facing at least the mandatory 90 days of jail time (per additional offense), increased fines and the three year revocation status will restart.
Kansas Hardship License
Under the law, anyone who is suspended for 1 year is presumed eligible to apply for a restricted license. Approval is not a guaranteed right. This limited restricted license gives suspended drivers partial restoration of driving privileges for the purposes of getting to and from work, school or alcohol treatment programs. To get this license you must apply by:
7500 College Blvd., Suite 500
PHONE & FAX