In Kansas, all insured drivers carry at least the minimum liability coverage of $25,000. That means, if you are seriously injured by a driver carrying minimum liability, the $25,000 is the maximum their insurance will pay. Depending on the severity of the accident, the average cost to you is $61,000 to $1.13 million. After the $25,000 is paid, you then will turn to your personal insurance for financial support. Even with the mandatory PIP coverage, you likely will be left with tens-of-thousands of dollars in costs. Having, in this instance, Underinsured Motorist Insurance (UIM) is inexpensive to increase the basic coverage and provides added coverage where the at-fault's insurance isn't enough.
What if the other party has no insurance at all? If you are injured by someone with no car insurance you will have to depend upon your insurance for the costs related to your injury. Having Uninsured Motorist Insurance (UM), increased, is also inexpensive and could provide thousands of dollars in protection.
Attorney T. Morton suggests that you increase both UIM and UM coverage to your auto insurance policy. Each can be used to cover healthcare, lost wages, catastrophic injury, pain and suffering, and more. We understand Kansas auto insurance and the related injury laws. Call us today for your free consultation, following injury by an uninsured or underinsured motorist, @ 913.602.7288.
7500 College Blvd., Suite 500
PHONE & FAX