You’ve been in a car accident in Kansas and you need to know how long you have to bring a lawsuit. I’m Attorney T. Morton and today we will discuss how long you have to bring a lawsuit, following a car crash in Kansas City, Overland Park and across the state of Kansas. The time limits on filing your claim is known, in legal terms, as the statute of limitations. In Kansas you have two years to bring a suit. This information is good as of the date of this blog and has been for several years. However, you cannot rely on this information forever. Laws are always changing and if you miss the deadlines you may miss out on compensation you deserve. Here’s why you need to know this. The only way you are going to know how long you have to file in your particular case is to pick up the phone and call me at 913.602.7288 or complete this FORM. Let me help you with your questions.
You were in a car accident in Kansas and went to the hospital. Now you may be wondering who is going to pay your hospital bills or, you may have gotten a notice of lien from the hospital. Here's how it works. When you went to the hospital, even if you presented it with your insurance information, the hospital can elect not to bill your insurance. Shocking as that may be, it is legal. Most of the time the hospital will simply bill your insurance company and you never hear anything else about a bill again. However, sometimes, it may elect not to bill your insurance and instead bill you directly. This occurs particularly in cases involving car accidents. The hospital may do this in an effort to collect a higher rate than the pre-negotiated rate it would otherwise bill your insurance company. For instance, you settle your Kansas car accident claim for $100,000 and you then get a hospital bill/lien notice for $10,000 but, if it had billed your insurance company it would only be able to collect $3,000. On the other hand, if you did not provide proof of insurance, you can be certain that a bill/lien will be coming. It happens. Do you just pay it? Do you have options? Shouldn't the person at-fault pay or your insurance company? You need an attorney to answer the many questions you may have when this happens to you. Pick up the phone and call us today 913.602.7288 we have the answers.
7500 College Blvd., Suite 500
PHONE & FAX