In 2011, Dr. Phil's dog bit a visitor (Janet Harris). Harris was visiting Dr. Phil's family home when the incident occurred. Following the incident, Dr. Phil and his wife convinced Harris not to seek medical attention. This decision resulted in Harris experiencing a serious infection, causing hand tremors and loss of use of the bitten hand. Given that Harris was a skin-care professional, and required use of her hands to practice her profession, she filed a personal injury claim. She sought $7 million dollars in damages for her emotional distress, loss of income (past and future), medical care, etc...In 2013 the case settled, for an undisclosed amount, outside of court.
If you are bitten or attacked the Center for Disease Control and Prevention suggests the following:
See a healthcare provider immediately
A seemingly inconsequential dog bite can have long-term impacts on the life of the bitten. As a knowledgeable Kansas dog bite lawyer, Attorney T. Morton would advise you to seek medical attention if you are bitten by a dog, or any animal. You may determine, following being bitten, that you need Attorney T. Morton to seek compensation for yours, or your loved one's, injury. Don't hesitate to call for your free consultation 913-602-7288 or complete this FORM.
In the United States, motor vehicle injuries are the leading causes of death for children ages 3-14 years old. In Kansas, there were 341 fatal accidents across the state, in 2014. Of those, where children (aged 4-14) were passengers, 54.4% involved in fatal accident were improperly restrained. We can do better Kansas! Here is a printable car seat safety guide, from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. (GUIDE)
Child Restraint Law
Kansas law requires children less than 18 years of age be properly restrained no matter where they are seated in the vehicle. Children through age 3 must be secured in a separate carrier (child safety seat) or in a vehicle manufacturer's integrated child safety seat.
For children under the age of 1: For the best possible protection keep the infants in the back seat, in rear-facing child safety seats, as long as possible up to the height or weight limit of the particular seat. At a minimum, keep infants rear-facing until a minimum of age 1 and at least 20 pounds.
For children ages 1, 2, and 3: When children outgrow their rear-facing seats (at a minimum age 1 and at least 20 pounds) they should ride in forward-facing child safety seats, in the back seat, until they reach the upper weight or height limit of the particular seat.
For children ages 4, 5, 6, and 7: Are required to ride in a booster seat unless: the child weighs more than 80 pounds, or the child is taller than 4 feet nine inches, or only a lap belt is available. Children who meet the above height and weight criteria must be protected by a seatbelt.
Children ages 8 and up: Are required to be protected by a seat belt.
Infants must ride rear-facing until they are at least one (1) year old and weigh 20 pounds or more. The coalition recommends that children stay rear-facing until they reach the weight limit of the car seat or 35 pounds as the child is safer. Rear-facing, the infant, should be semi-upright at an angle of no more than 45 degrees. A forward-facing older child should ride sitting upright. We recommend that all children age 13 years of age and younger ride in the rear seat. Never place a child in the front seat of a vehicle equipped with a passenger air bag.
Best & Worst Car Seats
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety offers a best and worst list for car seats here. Consider checking this list before you purchase a car seat.
Your child may be using a car seat that has been recalled. This posses a great safety risk to him/her. Check here to see if your car seat is on the list.
Kansas Car Seat Check Events
Here is a link to car seat check events. Take the advice and assistance from those trained to ensure the proper use of child restraints. It just may save your little one's life.
We care about your child's safety! It's possible that you may be involved in an accident and have followed the guidelines above. If you or your child is injured in accident, nonetheless, we are here to be the Kansas personal injury lawyer by your side. Call Attorney T. Morton @ 913.602.7288 or complete this FORM.
There may come a time in life, if it hasn't already happened, when you are faced with the tough decision of determining where your elderly loved one will be cared for. Often times a nursing home or assisted living care is the best, but last, option. When you leave your elderly loved one in the care of another, you can be a part of preventing the abuse by:
1. Visiting - Frequently visit where your loved one is cared for. Better yet, go by unannounced. Their providers should be welcoming and comfortable with your presence. If not, that may be cause for concern.
2. Create and Monitor the Care Plan - You are the best advocate for your loved one. In order to avoid confusion and create an understanding have a care plan that you, and the agency, can use to ensure the care expected is met.This should be a working document that allows for necessary adjustments as the care of your loved one changes.
3. Ask Around - Consider requesting and checking references before placing your elderly loved one in anyone's care. The Kansas Better Business Bureau, Department of Human Services, etc... are great starting points. After they have arrived, talk to the other residences, staff and outside family members. This will help you to make an informed decision; further, you will build a network of contacts that can help you keep up to date, following placement.
4. Take Action - If you suspect abuse or negligence, remove the victim (as soon as possible), call the Department of Human Services, make a report to the police and hire a lawyer. Keep your family involved too. Signs of abuse include:
1. Use Your Turn Signal - Using your turn signal gives the other drivers notice that you will be changing your course. This provides them with the opportunity to think about how they will safely allow you to switch lanes, enter traffic, turn, etc...
2. Obey Traffic Signals - Give yourself plenty of opportunity to stop at a red light, by slowing down when the light turns yellow. Running stop lights is a quick way to endanger yourself and others. Better to be safe than sorry.
3. Keep Your Eyes on the Road - We all are curious about what caused the accident ahead, or why the police stopped someone, etc... Our desire to know/see not only slows traffic, it also sometimes causes accidents. Keeping your eyes on the road ahead allows traffic flow to continue and keeps you, and others, safe.
4. Obey the Speed Limit - Speed limits are laws intended to keep you safe. Obey them. If you're unsure, or it is not posted, here are some guidelines:
5. Avoid Distracted Driving - Texting, playing, eating/drinking, talking on the phone, etc... all take your attention away from safely driving. Distracted driving is one of the leading causes of accidents in Kansas. Just don't do it. You will be safer, as will others, when you don't.
We know you will use our five easy tips and be a better Kansas driver. If you, or your loved one, is injured in a car accident call Attorney T. Morton at 913.602-7288 right away. We are here to help you and your consultation is free. Don't forget to buckle up too.
Front page news today - Multi-million dollar company (Halliburton) vs. hard working family deserving justice. This article illustrates the heartbreaking reality of many faced with the wrongful death of a loved one. Some jobs are inherently more dangerous than others, but that does not remove the company from liability for injury or death of its employees. This company fought to avoid pay a $7000 fine, surely paying you, what your family deserves, would be a fight too. You, or your loved one, may not work for Halliburton but may be faced with a similar circumstance. Don't do it alone! You will need a worker's compensation and personal injury lawyer by your side. Take action and call Attorney T. Morton today 913.602.7288.
Happy National Dog Day Kansas, from our fur baby (Cupcakes) to yours! Perhaps you will be out at events, meant for pets, during this week. Maybe you will be like Attorney T. Morton, and team, and dress your pets for Halloween (and even take each trick-or-treating). How about a romp through the dog park? Each of these events/settings will be filled with fun seeking, well-intended, people and pets. However, in some instances, animal bites/attacks occur. We hope that you won't have such an experience but if you do call Attorney T.Morton @ 913.602.7288.
This bus flip video depicts one of many like it in Kansas. Fortunately, in this instance the injuries were not catastrophic; however, several were injured. Injuries, minor or major, typically occur where buses are involved. There are time limits, to file your claim, if you are involved in a bus accident. You will need an lawyer to help protect your rights and get you what you deserve. Call Attorney T. Morton at 913.602.7288 today.
1. Ask Questions - Most personal injury or worker's compensation attorneys, like Attorney T. Morton, will give you a free initial consultation. During this time, you should ask questions. Some key questions you should ask are:
3. Consider the experience the attorney has in dealing with your specific type of case. Experience counts. Ask about it. Additionally, find out if he/she has resources and/or contacts (ex. medical professionals, experts, etc...) that will collaborate with him/her to meet your case's needs.
4. Pay attention to the attentiveness, thoroughness and responsiveness of the attorney. You are more than just another client and should be given the attention you deserve during this difficult time. Are your calls/emails responded to in a timely fashion? Is the attorney taking time to explain to you, in a way that you understand, what is going on with your case? Is it clear that you, and your case, are a priority?
5. Ask for referrals from former clients and/or other attorneys. You may want to consider calling other lawyers (perhaps in non-competing practices) and finding out what the reputation of the attorney you are considering is. Former clients are also likely to give you open and honest insight into what it will be like to work with the attorney.
Choosing an attorney is an important decision. Attorney T. Morton, and her team, are here to serve you. We hope that you will use our five quick tips and consider taking action, with us on your side, today. Call 913.620.7288 or complete our FORM.
7500 College Blvd., Suite 500
PHONE & FAX